- 1.) Marriage Licenses
 - \$25.00 Cash or Check to apply for a Marriage License
 - Both applying parties must appear in person before the issuing officer in the Clerk's Office with 1 form of government-issued photo identification for each person.
 - Ceremonies can be performed in ANY COUNTY in the State of Nebraska, however they will always be <u>filed in the county they were issued in</u> as well as with the DHHS Vital Records with the State of Nebraska.
 - The license expires one year (365 days) from the date of issuance.
 - Per §42-108, the Marriage License needs to be (returned)/ filed in the Office of the Cherry County Clerk, within 15 days of the ceremony being performed.
 - Information needed for both parties on application:
 - First, Middle and Last Names (Maiden names if applicable)
 - Residence address
 - Father's First, Middle and Last Names
 - <u>Mother's First, Middle and Maiden Last Names (the last name of the Mothers prior</u> to marrying)
 - Birthplace location of ALL PARENTS (City/State)
 - o Social Security Numbers for both applicants
 - If previously married, the Final Date of Dissolution is required.
 - Nebraska State law requires that there be 6 months between the final date of dissolution and application for new marriage.
- 2.) Following the Ceremony
 - Be sure all information on the license is filled out completely. Failure to do so may delay the recording of the marriage license with the County or the State.
 - Use only black ink when completing the License and Certificate of Marriage. Please do not write outside of the designated boxes.
 - The officiant must fill in box numbers 21a through 21f.
 - Remember to **SIGN and PRINT** your name in box 21d and to fill in your full mailing address, including city, state and zip code in box 21f. You must also include your title (judge, minister, reverend, pastor, etc.) in box 21e.
 - The witnesses must fill in box numbers 22a through 22d.
 - Remember to have both witnesses sign the document and fill in their full mailing address, including city, state and zip code.
 - If an error is detected ABOVE the signature lines, please contact the Cherry County Clerk's Office.
 - DO NOT allow any handwritten corrections to be made to the applicants' information above the signatures.
 - If an error is made BELOW the signature lines, simply cross through the erroneous information and print or type the correction(s) above or to the side.

********Never use whiteout to make a correction on a marriage license********

- 3.) Filing the Marriage License
 - Officiants/Applicants/Family Members are required to file (return) the original "License & Certificate of Marriage" to the county clerk within fifteen (15) days of the ceremony.
 - Please keep in mind that couples cannot receive a certified copy of their marriage license until it is returned to the Cherry County Clerk's Office to be filed.
 - Certified copies are needed for things such as insurance, benefits and name changes.
 - Certified copies of the Marriage license are \$9.00 each.

IMPORTANT NOTE:

If the completed Marriage License is <u>NOT RETURNED</u> to the Cherry County Clerk's Office and filed by the office the Marriage will not be recognized by the State of Nebraska

- Photocopies of the completed marriage license or Keepsake Marriage Certificates will not be accepted by most government offices.
- If you have questions, please contact:

Cherry County Clerk's Office

365 N Main St. Suite #5

PO BOX 120

Valentine, NE 69201

(402) 376-2771

Who can perform a Marriage Ceremony:

Per Nebraska Revised Statutes §42-108, "Every judge, retired judge, clerk magistrate or retired clerk magistrate, and every preacher of the gospel authorized by the usages of the church to which he or she belongs to solemnize marriages, may perform the marriage ceremony in this State. Every such person performing the marriage ceremony shall make a return of his or her proceedings in the premises, showing the names and residences of at least two witnesses who were present at such marriage. The return shall be made to the county clerk who issued the license within fifteen (15) days after such marriage has been performed. The county clerk shall record the return or cause it to be recorded in the same book where the marriage license is recorded."